Me, Myself, and I: The Most Tumultuous Relationship I’ve Ever Had

I want to love myself so badly but it is  impossible  difficult.

Remember in 2003 when Beyoncé told us that all she has is, “Me, Myself, and, I” in the end and that she’ll never disappoint herself? I was ten but I remember the lyrics were so simplistic that even I could understand the feeling of liberation when you resolve to love yourself a little bit more.

download (1)
Picture from Beyonce’s “Me, Myself, and I” (2003) video

 

Fast forward and I understand more than ever the importance of loving yourself. I may not be going through a breakup but I do know how dangerous it is to lose the deep connection that you have with yourself. Or maybe you never had it.

Once you realize that your relationship with yourself is a  bit rocky you can’t unsee that shit. It’s the same way that we fixate on anything that appears “off”. What is more frustrating for our brains to deal with is either a) not being able to change anything about something or worse b) not doing anything about something.

I have been caught in this cycle of anger, depression, and grief. I have to escape. Someone tell me how because I’m lost and this kind of life is all I know.

2 thoughts on “Me, Myself, and I: The Most Tumultuous Relationship I’ve Ever Had

  1. You can always change something, your mind is powerful, learning to change the way we perceive things and how they affect us is definitely a life changer. Mindfulness makes this easier. Listen to your bodymind, perhaps you need a change, something new? A good walk, a new recipe, going out to watch a sunset. Self-care is also important, such as chill time, facemasks, a lovely bath. You are a beautiful and strong. As soon as you try, you’re already winning. You can rise from this. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I wholeheartedly agree with you. I’m not sure if you ventured to my about me section but I have recently experienced some traumatic events. I’m working on mindfulness. The first step for me is understanding triggers that make me lash out in anger when I’m really sad or scared. I’m learning to actually sit with my sadness or fear and process those feelings. Grief can take you to some pretty dark places but you are so right that the effort is what really matters. Thank you for your light and well wishes. I sincerely appreciate it.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

